Brazilian & Vegan: Vatapá

Oh my Brazilian cooking day was sooo delicious. Again I can say I LOVE the south american cuisine! I think I should move there some time!😉

But let me tell you about it. My Brazilian guest Felipe surprised me with his blonde hair! His family originaly is from Germany – indeed from Germany! But more surprised I was from Felipe´s fabulous cooking skills.

We made Brazilian rice, Vatapá, Brazilian lemonade and Acarajé, which is a dish made from peeled black-eyed peas formed into a ball and then deep-fried in dendê. Pretty deliocious! But my favorite was the Vatapá. Usually you make it with Shrimp but that´s not necessary at all! And sooo delicious! You have to try that!!! So, let me explain how to make it!🙂

Vatapá

  • 2 onions, chopped
  • 4 tomatoes, chopped
  • 1/2 bunch coriander, chopped
  • 1/2 bunch parsley, chopped
  • 200 g peanuts, grounded
  • 100 g cashews, grounded
  • 1 small piece ginger, chopped
  • 1/2 red chili, chopped
  • 7 slices bread (toast)
  • 1 can coconut milk
  • 1 can chopped tomatos
  • olive oil
  • salt & pepper
  • optional: Brazilian rice (rice cooked with oil and chopped onions)

Heat some oil in a pot. Add the onions and ginger. Let cook for some minutes bevor adding the chili, coriander and the fresh tomatos.

Add the can chopped tomatos.

Put the bread in a bowl. Add the coconut milk. Use a fork to mix bread and coconut milk.

Add coconut bread mixture to the tomato onion mixture. Let cook for some minutes, stirring.

Add peanut & cashew flour. Stirr well. Add the parsley. Cook another 5 minutes. Season with salt & pepper.

Serve with Brazilian rice.

Bom apetite!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

